Mark Calitri reports: ROMP music fest line up will drive economic impact to Owensboro

Mark Calitri reports: ROMP line up will drive economic impact to Owensboro
On June 24th – 27th, 2020, ROMP Festival takes place at Yellow Creek Park, located in Owensboro, Kentucky. Produced by the Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame & Museum, the four-day music festival celebrates bluegrass and roots music, local artists, and healthy, farm to table food vendors.
Along with the previously announced Public Radio broadcast of Live from Here with Chris Thile, Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers, The Devil Makes Three, and Sam Bush lead the latest additions to the 2020 lineup. Hornsby, a virtuosic pianist, is known for his mainstream success with hits like “The Way It Is” and “Mandolin Rain.” Hornsby also has ties to traditional American roots music, collaborating with Ricky Skaggs as well as playing and touring with the Grateful Dead. He has fused the plunk and dazzle of twentieth-century modernist classical composition to singer-songwriter emotional inquiries. The Devil Makes Three debuts on the ROMP stage bringing their unique sounds rooted in troubadour traditions of wandering folk, Delta blues, whiskey-soaked ragtime, and reckless rock ‘n’ roll. Longtime ROMP favorite and Western Kentucky native Sam Bush, known as the father of Newgrass, returns in 2020. Bush appeals to the masses, a consensus pick of peers and predecessors, of the traditionalists, the rebels, and the next gen devotees. Music’s ultimate inside outsider.
Prior ROMP Festival favorites We Banjo 3 returns along with newcomers Mandolin Orange, a duo which is lighting up the Americana music scene. The iconic voice of Dan Tyminski joins the lineup, known not only for his years with Alison Krauss & Union Station, but as the vocalist for the global Avicii hit “Hey, Brother” and The Soggy Bottom Boys’ “Man of Constant Sorrow” featured in the film O Brother, Where Art Thou?. Longtime ROMP favorites Town Mountain also appear, just as they’re skyrocketing in popularity across the Americana circuit. Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, fresh off a Grammy win last month, round out headlining artists for 2020.
Additional artists include: Balsam Range, Front Country, Trout Steak Revival, Blue Highway, The Price Sisters, and Giri & Uma Peters. More artists will be announced soon.
Tickets are on sale now. Four-day tickets are available for $165, and VIP tickets are $415 and include catered meals, air-conditioned restrooms, and prime stage views. Onsite tent and RV camping passes are also available. Children 12 & under are free. All ticket prices will increase on Tuesday, February 18th.

Comments are closed.